Monday, October 2, 2023
HomeNewsWho are the 7 sages in Zelda lore and why do they...

Related Posts

Who are the 7 sages in Zelda lore and why do they matter?

- Advertisement -

- Advertisement -

Link may be the gods’ chosen hero in the Legend of Zelda games, but the swordsman often relies on the help of others. Whether he’s teaming up with Princess Zelda to defeat Gannon or drawing on the power of his grandmother’s special soup, a lot of Link’s power comes from the people he meets in his never-ending quest Support him in defeating the evil that threatens Hyrule.

Enter the Saints: a mysterious group of characters who have supported Link in various forms in several games. As recurring characters, Saints have appeared in games such as The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time And The Legend of Zelda: The Wind Waker. now they’re back in The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom, His reintroduction in the mainline Zelda game represents a return to a classic Zelda trope, but his seemingly sudden appearance calls into question his role. tears of the kingdom and beyond. Here, we break down the history of the Saints in The Legend of Zelda and the larger world of the most recent game.

Who are the Saints in the wider Zelda lore?

As mentioned above, Sages are a recurring group of characters seen in several Zelda games. Similar to other regular characters like Link or Zelda, Saints act like a character archetype that developers can adapt and slot into completely different stories in different timelines. As a result, saints in one game are not necessarily the same exact characters in another, but they may serve similar roles or purposes.

- Advertisement -

In the larger Zelda lore, the role of the Saints is generally that of protecting the Triforce and supporting the royal family of Hyrule. The sages can trace their lineage back to the early days of Hyrule. As the origin story goes, the goddesses descended on Hyrule and gave life to the land. When he did so, he also left behind a mythical source of power known as the Triforce. The place where the gods and goddesses left the Triforce became known as the sacred area, and those tasked with guarding the sacred area became sages.

- Advertisement -
Link stands in the Chamber of Sages in The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time.  It resembles a spiritual space with glowing crystals emanating blue light.

Link in the Sage’s Room The Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time
Image: Nintendo via SourceSpy91/YouTube

In Zelda lore, the early Hylians possessed magical powers. Over time, many Hylians lost their connection to these magical powers. Exceptions to this included sages and the royal family, so sages are notable for their special powers and ties to the Hyrule royal family. A notable example includes Rauru, a sage who aided Link in Ocarina of Timeand now tears of the kingdom,

[Ed. note: The rest of this article contains spoilers for the story of The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom.]

Who is the sage in The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom?

While the role of the Saints varies from game to game, the characters come back largely tears of the kingdom, At the beginning of the game, Zelda is transported to Hyrule’s ancient past, where she meets Hyrule’s original sages. We don’t know all of their names, but the Saints we meet are Rauru (the first king of Hyrule), Sonia (the first queen of Hyrule), Zelda (who stands in for Sonia), Mineru (the sister of Rauru) Are. As well as a Goron, a Gerudo, a Rito and a Zora.

In that timeline, Rauru and the Saint fight Ganondorf in what is known as the Imprisonment War after the villain kills Sonia and takes her secret stone, a magical power-enhancing item that each Sage possesses. Sage and Rauru cannot defeat Ganondorf, but the king manages to drive him away. Later, Zelda approaches the Sage from the Sage and asks them to rise and fight alongside Link when the time comes thousands of years later. They agree, and all that is left is to pass the time.

An image of the original Saints entering battle in a battle known as the Captured War.  The cut scene plays out a memory and plays with a sepia-toned filter.  It shows the Seven Saints in all as they face Ganon.

Image: Nintendo EPD/Nintendo via Play Gamez

link and enter our journey tears of the kingdom, Ganondorf rises again, and it is up to Link to fight him. Link then travels from region to region meeting and awakening those who are reborn as new Saints. We won’t list them all to avoid spoilers at worst, but the main ones include Tullin, Sidon, Mekaela Riju, Yunobo, and Mineru/her Zonai robot. Each of those Saints has a connection to a particular element and uses that power to help Link on his journey.

Whereas in other Zelda games, the sage plays an advisory role or serves largely to advance the plot and give Link a long series of quests, the sage tears of the kingdom Link their power in a very literal sense. Playing mainline quests will awaken each character as a Sage, and allow them to lend a special elemental power to Link. For example, Tulin as the Sage of the Wind harnesses the power of gusts of wind, while Sidon has the unique ability to deploy a water shield and attacks. The Saints swear allegiance to Link and reveal avatar versions of themselves that allow Link to call upon their power wherever he goes.

Together, sages play a central role tears of the kingdom By being a driving force both behind the bigger story and in how you play the game.

- Advertisement -

Latest Posts

%d bloggers like this: